T2M - International Association for the History of Transport, Traffic, and Mobility
Home > Annual Conferences > Prizes and Awards

Prizes and Awards

T2M, in conjunction with a number of sponsors, is proud to bestow awards on worthy transportation history scholars each year at the annual meeting.

Dr Cornelius Lely Prize on Mobility History and Policy

John Scholes Prize

Barker and Robbins Prize

TU 144 and Concorde Museum Sinsheim, Germany

TU 144 and Concorde Museum Sinsheim, Germany

Dr Cornelius Lely Prize on Mobility History and Policy

The Lely Prize is awarded at each year’s T2M conference for the best paper presented connecting history with current problems of policy and planning.

The prize is named in honor of Cornelis Lely who was the Minister of Water Management responsible for filling in large parts of the Zuiderzee. He was also a visionary parliamentary advocate for motorized road transport who, as a minister, was responsible in 1915 for the first road plan in the Netherlands.

There are no limitations on time period, location or mobility mode. To be eligible, papers must be submitted in time to be included in the conference CD. The selection committee invites those submitting papers to nominate themselves, although it reserves the right to evaluate other papers if their topics seem appropriate.

The prize of € 250 is funded by the Waterstaat, the Dutch Department of Public Works.

Previous winners:

2008 – Álvaro Ferreira da Silva and Luisa Sousa, New University of Lisbon for “The ‘Script’ of a new urban layout: mobility: Environment and Embellishment. Street Uses in Lisbon between 1880 and 1920.”

2007 – Laurel L. Cornell, University of Indiana, “How Did Roads in the United States Come to Be So Large? An Analysis of the Person on Foot from the Perspective of the AASTHO Road Designer, 1954-1990.”

2006 – Hanneke Duijnhoven, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, “Security culture in the Dutch and Spanish Railway Sectors: A Historical Perspective.”

The John Scholes Prize

The John Scholes Prize, of up to GBP 250, is awarded annually by the Association to the writer of an unpublished essay based on original research into any aspect of the history of transport, traffic and mobility. The prize is intended for younger scholars or recent entrants to the profession and may be awarded to the writer of one outstanding article or be divided between two or more entrants.

Publication in the Journal of Transport History will be at the discretion of the Editor and subject to the usual refereeing process.

The prize is funded by the Transport History Research Trust in memory of John Scholes, first Curator of Historical Relics at the British Transport Commission.

General Rules:

To be eligible for the prize the candidate must not yet:

(a) be in a permanent academic position

(b) have published an academic monograph or have a publication in a major academic journal.

Entry is open to all. Essays must not exceed 8000 words (including footnotes), must be fully documented, word-processed or typewritten with double line spacing, and submitted in English. Entries (three copies, stating the number of words) should be sent in hard copy only to arrive no later than 31 July 2009 for the current competition. Essays should not bear any reference to the author, either by name or department; candidates should send a covering letter with documentation of their status. The judges will not enter into correspondence.

Entries for the prize should be sent to:

The John Scholes Prize

T2M Secretariat

(ECMD) PDE Building, first floor

Postbus 1015

5700 MC Helmond

The Netherlands

Enquiries may be made to the Chair of the Prize Committee, Professor Lena Andersson-Skog <lena.andersson-skog@ekhist.umu.se>

Previous winners:

2008-2005 – Info coming soon

2004 – Joanna Guldi, PhD student, University of California, Berkeley – “Transport to modernity: the expanding British road network, law, technology, and society to 1835.”

2003 – Mike Esbester, who was a PhD student at the Institute of Railway Studies and Transport History, University of York at the time – ‘The Railway Police, c.1825-1860: “For the Protection and Safety of Those Travelling on the Railway”‘

Barker and Robbins Prize

The Barker and Robbins prize is presented to a new entrant to the study of transport and mobility history, for the best presentation at the T²M Conference. The prize honours two eminent British transport historians, Theo Barker and Michael Robbins, and is funded by the Transport History Research Trust. Theo Barker ended his career at the London School of Economics and published prolifically in the field of transport history. He was renowned for being an excellent story-teller, and inspired many to pursue transport history research. Michael Robbins was a founding co-editor of the Journal of Transport History in the mid-1950s and, although his career was as a practising transport manager (ending his career as a very senior manager at London Underground), he had an enduring interest in transport history. The very strong link between the two people honoured by this prize is their joint authorship of the definitive history of London Transport.

The Prize was awarded for the first time at the T²M Conference in Helmond (25th-28th October 2007). It consists of the sum of up to 150 pounds sterling (GBP 150) which may be divided between more than one winner at the discretion of the Prize Committee. The Prize will be awarded to a new entrant to the profession, who, in the opinion of the Prize Committee, delivers the best paper at the Association’s annual meeting. Whilst the prize is awarded for the best presentation at the conference, a good presentation cannot occur without the sound underpinning of a good paper. In making their decision, the Committee may bear in mind factors including, but not restricted to, the quality and originality of the argument and the effectiveness of the delivery. The Committee may decide not to award the Prize if there are no suitable candidates.

A new entrant to the profession is here defined as anyone who: is making a presentation for the first time at the annual meeting of the Association; is not in a permanent academic post; and is unpublished in the form of an academic book or an article in a major academic journal on either the history of transport and mobility or a cognate subject.

To nominate yourself for the Prize, please tick the box on the conference registration form, available elsewhere on the Association’s website.

The closing date for nominations for this year’s competition is to be announced.

Previous prize winners:

2008 – Sarah Frohardt-Lane (University of Illinois)

2007 – Mike Esbester (University of Reading) and Arnaud Passalacqua (University of Paris)